The Other Side of the Story; A Father’s Perspective

When the phone rang right at 6am, I knew that something was going on.  I told my wife, you just don’t call a guy at 6 am for no good reason.  When she told me that she was headed in to triage because she was contracting regularly, I started looking for Scotty to beam me to Michigan.  I started looking through flights, my mind spinning around the things that still needed to be done at home to enable me to be gone.  I have never mowed the lawn, prepared the pool, and packed my bags so quickly in my life.  Within 2 hours time I had my house ready to leave and my kids, my parents, and myself on the road to my wife and my son.  Rationalization in my brain said that I wasn’t going to make it in time, hope in my heart kept telling me to try my hardest.

I got a few “update” phone calls from my wife that really sounded promising.  The contractions spread out a little when they put in her epidural, things like that.  But at 3:13pm I got the call that confirmed my worst fear.  We just weren’t going to make it.  Failure is never an option in our world, and the feeling of not being able to make it was a really hard pill to swallow.  The fact that I wasn’t going to be there went against every husband and father instinct I have in me.

We were driving down the interstate, while I contently listened to all of the commotion on the other end of the phone.  When I heard that first big bellow from my son it was a moment of overwhelming joy.  Tanner was here and then my wife started to describe him, so I knew she was fine as well.  She told me he was pretty.   Then quickly changed her mind to handsome, so I said let’s just call him pretty handsome.  Even though I wasn’t there, I still felt the blessing that God sent to Annie and I that evening.

An update on Tanner this morning (5-25-15):  Tanner and I spent our first night together.  It was a great guys night!  He is continuing to be stable.  And we appreciate and are feeling all the prayers and angels sent our way.

 

2 thoughts on “The Other Side of the Story; A Father’s Perspective

  1. Annie and Family,
    I’m keeping all of you in my prayers. Congratulations to all of you! Wishing you all the best!
    Diane Norris – South High Lunch Clerk

    Like

Leave a Reply

